Feet of clay

Term has ended at the College. And everyone is packing up to leave, as fast as they can. Worn out and unwell, energies and emotions spent -the holiday has come just in time.

I have just come from speaking to one of the monks of the Community of the Resurrection, about my planned pilgrimage and the possibility of raising awareness of the Community’s appeal, alongside the walk.

But today you see, I don’t want to walk anywhere. I don’t want to do anything. 6 weeks of flu, and more than 10 weeks of intense college life, and I feel like a lump of mud… all that animates me is the merest wisp of God’s breath -most of me feels like dust about to return to dust – dust and ashes…

And I certainly don’t want to do it by myself, in case my lamp goes out on the way…

About Jemma

Learning to be both a priest and a human being in the Anglican Church
This entry was posted in Planning the Pilgrimage, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

